Monday, 3 August 2015

Blog Tour: Joanna Taylor's "Masquerade."

Blog Tour: Joanna Taylor's "Masquerade."

Amazon.com:    http://amzn.to/1HevXqj
Amazon UK:     http://amzn.to/1VTgAyx

Synopsis:

1786: Regency London.

Everyone is hiding something.

But someone is hiding everything.

Lizzy Ward never meant to end up working the streets of Piccadilly. So when a mysterious noble pursues her, it seems her luck is changing. But though Lord Hays offers to grow Lizzy's fortunes, his price is unexpected. She must masquerade in the sumptuous gowns and social mask of a true lady.

With the stakes so high, love is out of the question. But as Lizzy navigates the fashion and faux-pas of the London elite, she finds her tough facade failing her. Lord Hayes wants to show her that nobility is more than skin deep. . . and as the connection between them grows, it's no longer certain who's wearing the mask. As the street-girl and the lord collide. Regency London is poised for scandal . . . 

A love story of surpassing power and imagination, this is a stunning new British voice in Historical romance for fans of Eloisa James, Julia Quinn, Stephanie Laurens and Georgette Heyer

A street-girl and a lord? London is poised for scandal ... Bestselling author Joanna Taylor delivers captivating historical romance.

Review: Kirsty Lander

This book was way out of my comfort zone. I don't generally read historical romances (this is only my second to date) but when I was asked to read it as part of a tour, I thought 'well, why not?'

I don't want to hash over the story, I'd rather review in a way that expresses my feelings as I read the book. I read it at a time in my life where I was VERY busy, so I admit it took me a long time to get through. This was in part to me being so very busy, but also because I did find it took me a long time to really get in to the book. The language, of course, is very.. old? Historical? I don't know what you want me to call it LOL, and I admit it took me a while to get my head around it and be able to freely read the story. Once I did though, I was able to zoom through.

The story itself is, somehow, both familiar and different to anything I have read before. Similar because there is a story of a woman falling in love with an unlikely man. Different because it involved a street girl, falling for a Lord. When have I ever read a book about Lords and Lady's? I couldn't tell you, but I certainly don't regret reading it. 

I like to be taken out of my comfort zone at times and this book was a great way for me to do that. Had I read the book in a time in my life where I wasn't so busy, I probably would have read it much quicker because I did eventually get in to the book, wanting to read it more nd more, I just didn't have the time.

I'm not sure if I will purposely seek out historical romances again, but maybe given a tour opportunity, I would certainly think about it.

I rated "Masquerade" ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Author Bio:

Joanna Taylor is a best-selling cross-category author, who has sold over 200,000 books. She teams fiction writing with a successful and award-winning journalism career, working for The Times and the Mirror in London, UK. Her first adult romance, Spotlight, became an Amazon bestseller, and Joanna ranks in the top ten adult-romance writers on Amazon.

No comments:

Post a Comment